Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Zach Gulaboff Davis

Zach Gulaboff Davis (b. 1991) is a composer, pianist, conductor, and teacher from Oregon. His passion is creating a "populist" yet engaging vein of contemporary classical music music by embracing techniques from the Common Practice Period to modern times. Zach's music is defined by a mix of tonality and atonality, extremely colorful harmonies, and a juxtaposition of lyrical and harsh melodies. While Zach enjoys writing music for many instrumental configurations, he is especially passionate about composing chamber music and its relevance today.

Zach’s music has been performed at the Oregon Bach Festival, Atlantic Music Festival, Sonoma State University, New York City, Linfield College, and many other places. As a winner of the Vox Novis Competition, Zach’s Scherzo for Piano was premiered by pianist Yumi Suehiro at the Composer’s Voice concert series in New York City in 2014. Additionally, in 2013, Zach’s Sonata for Viola and Piano won the 2013 American Federation of Music Club’s competition for chamber music. Selections of Zach’s Piano Concerto No. 1 were performed by the Linfield Concert Band with Dr. Albert Kim as the soloist. Davis frequently performs his own compositions at various venues. Zach has studied composition with Dr. Richard Bourassa and David Tcimpedis; he has also participated in masterclasses with Lowell Liebermann, Robert Kyr, Libby Larsen, and Stephen Hartke. Zach teaches piano privately and has been an intern instructor for class piano, music theory, and chamber music courses at Linfield.

As a pianist, Zach has been featured as a concerto soloist, chamber musician, and solo performer, and has performed at such places as the Portland International Piano Festival and the Oregon Bach Festival. Among other awards, Zach has won the concerto competitions of the Salem Youth Symphony and Linfield Chamber Orchestra; he has also placed first in the keyboard division of the Salem Chamber Orchestra concerto competition and second in the collegiate division of the Oregon Music Teacher’s Association piano competition. Zach has studied piano with Dr. Albert Kim, Prof. Chris Engbretson, Dr. Jill Timmons, and Dr. Elise Yun.

Also an orchestral percussionist, Zach has been the timpanist for the Linfield Concert Band and was the student intern and percussionist for the Willamette Valley Symphony during its 2012-2013 season. As of August 2014, Zach is a masters of music student at Mannes College Music in New York City.

Zach completed his B.A. in music at Linfield College, summa cum laude, with minors in mathematics and education. In his spare time, Zach has competed in American Kennel Club sports with his dogs, and has a keen interest in aviation and spending time outdoors.

Representative Works:

Waltz from Twelve Pieces for Piano
Melody for Violin and Piano

Visit Me Online:
• Music: SoundCloud
• Web

Oregon Connection: After moving from the L.A. area as a very young child, I have lived in Oregon ever since. In 2014, I completed my B.A. with a dual emphasis in piano performance and composition/theory at Linfield College in McMinnville. Though I am now a MM student in composition at Mannes College of Music in NYC, Oregon will always been my home.